CBSE Class 10 Maths Exam: All you need to know about marking scheme

CBSE board exam 2020

CBSE Class 10 Maths Exam: Class 10 students of CBSE will appear for their mathematics examination on March 12. Many of you might not know that for the first time, CBSE is going to conduct the maths exam in two different categories.

The first will be the basic category for the students who are less interested in studying mathematics. Whereas, the second one, the standard category is for the students who want to pursue maths for their higher studies.

According to the reports, more than 6 lakh students have already opted for the basic category of the maths exam.

Undoubtedly, it will be a great stress relief for the students as maths is considered to be one of the most difficult subjects.

However, apart from the difficulty level of both the categories, there won’t be any change in the pattern of CBSE’s class 10 maths exam. The segregation of the subject might lessen the stress of the students.

Moreover, the board has given the leverage to students that if they fail in the standard category of the exam, they can reappear in the basic category. This will surely improve the CBSE board results this year.

Marking scheme of class 10 CBSE Maths exam

  • Divided into four sections, both the categories would have 40 questions.
  • Section A of the exam would carry 20 questions of 1 mark each.
  • There would be 6 questions in section B of 2 marks each.
  • In section C, there would be 8 questions of 3 marks each. Section D would have 6 questions of 4 marks each.
  • The internal choice will be given in all sections.
  • The students will have to answer one question of the two alternatives.
  • Other than that, there would be step marking.
  • Each step of the solution will carry a part of the total marks.
  • 0.5 to 1.5 marks are assigned for the conclusion statements.
  • Not writing the formula in the answer sheet can lead to a loss of marks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *