List of all the new MLAs of Ludhiana | Everything you need to know


YD News | Two-minute read

Ludhiana, March 11

The election results have been announced and Aam Aadmi Party has won in Punjab with a massive majority. In Ludhiana, Congress had a great stronghold for a long period of time. But this time, they could not win even one of the 14 assembly seats in Ludhiana.

Here is a list of all the new MLAs of Ludhiana.

Ludhiana North

AAP’s Madan Lal Bagga has swept the seat of Ludhiana North. For more than 25 years, it has been a bastion of Congress. Rakesh Pandey of Congress has won this seat six times. But this time, he was in third position.

Top three contestants of Ludhiana North

AAP- Madan Lal Bagga- 51104 votes (winner)

BJP- Parveen Bansal- 35822 votes

Congress- Rakesh Pandey- 24326 votes

Ludhiana South

From Ludhiana South, Aam Aadmi Party’s Rajinder Pal Kaur has won the seat. The former MLA Balwinder Bains did not get much votes and he was in the fourth position.

Balwinder Bains had a stronghold in the Ludhiana South assembly constituency. But Aam Aadmi Party has won this seat now. BJP’s Satinderpal Singh Tajpuri was in the second position.

Top three contestants of Ludhiana South

AAP- Rajinder Pal Kaur- 43811 votes (Winner)

BJP- Satinder Tajpuri- 17673 votes

Congress- Ishwarjot Cheema- 15604 votes

Ludhiana West

Former Cabinet Minister Bharat Bhushan Ashu was the sitting MLA from Ludhiana West. However, his old friend Gurpreet Bassi Gogi has won the seat for Aam Aadmi Party. He is the new MLA now.

Gogi was a new entrant in Aam Aadmi Party. He got the ticket a few days before the elections and he managed to win a tough seat for the party.

Top three contestants in Ludhiana West

AAP- Gurpreet Bassi Gogi- 40443 votes (Winner)

Congress- Bharat Bhushan Ashu- 32031 votes

BJP- Bikram Sidhu- 28107 votes

Ludhiana East

AAP’s Daljit Singh Bhola Garewal is the new MLA from Ludhiana East. He defeated Congress’ Sanjay Talwar. He also used to be a part of Congress and had joined the Aam Aadmi Party.

Top three contestants in Ludhiana East

AAP- Daljit Singh Bhola- 68682 votes (Winner)

Congress- Sanjay Talwar-32760 votes

Shiromani Akali Dal- Ranjit Singh Dhillon- 20369 votes

Ludhiana Central

There was a multi-cornered battle in Ludhiana Central. Aam Aadmi Party’s Ashok Prashar Pappi, Congress Surinder Kumar Dawar and BJP’s Gurdev Sharma Debi were in fight. However, Ashok Prashar won the seat.

Top three contestants in Ludhiana Central

AAP- Ashok Prashar Pappi- 32789 votes (Winner)

BJP- Gurdev Sharma Debi- 27985 votes

Congress- Surinder Dawar- 26972 votes

Atam Nagar

Atam Nagar used to be a bastion of Simarjit Singh Bains. Here also, Aam Aadmi Party won. A fight between Simarjit Singh Bains and Congress’ Kamaljit Singh Karwal. But AAP’s Kulwant Sidhu won.

Top three contestants in Atam Nagar

AAP- Kulwant Singh Sidhu- 44601 (Winner)

Congress- Kaamjit Singh Karwal- 28247 votes

Lok Insaf Party- Simarjit Singh – 12720 votes


Former Cabinet Minister Gurkirat Singh Kotli was the sitting MLA from Khanna. But here also, Tarunpreet Singh Sond of AAP has defeated him. Shiromani Akali Dal’s Jasdeep Kaur Yadu received second-highest votes in Khanna constituency.

Top three contestants in Khanna

AAP- Tarunpreet Singh Sond- 62425 votes (Winner)

Shiromani Akali Dal- Jasdeep Kaur Yadu- 26805 votes

Congress- Gurkirat Kotli- 20305 votes


Manwinder Singh Giaspura was the candidate from AAP in Payal. He has won the elections. There also, the former MLA was from Congress.

Top three contestants in Payal

AAP- Manwinder Singh Giaspura- 63633 votes (Winner)

Congress-Lakhbir Singh Lakha-30624 votes

Bahujan Samaj Party- Dr. Jaspreet Singh Bija- 20648 votes


Hakam Singh Thekedar of the Aam Aadmi Party has won the elections in Raikot. From Congress, Kamil Amar Singh was contesting the elections in Raikot. However, he lost.

Top three contestants in Raikot

AAP- Hakam Singh Thekedar- 63659 votes (Winner)

Congress- Kamil Amar Singh- 36015 votes

Bahujan Samaj Party- Balwinder Singh Sandhu- 8381 votes


Sarvjit Kaur Manuke of AAP has once again won the elections in Jagraon. She has done it for the second time. With a margin of over 39,000 votes, she has won the seat.

ALSO READ: 7 best bicycle brands in India | Everything you need to know

Top three contestants in Jagraon

AAP- Sarvjit Kaur Manuke- 65195 votes (Winner)

Shiromani Akali Dal- S.R. Kaler- 25539 votes

Congress- Jagtar Singh Jagga- 20878 votes


People were expecting a fight between Sanyukt Samaj Morcha’s Balbir Rajewal and Amrik Singh Dhillon. But unexpectedly, Jagtar Singh Diyalpura has won the elections in Samrala.

Top three contestants in Samrala

AAP- Jagtar Singh Diyalpura- 57557 votes (Winner)

Shiromani Akali Dal- Paramjit Singh Dhillon- 26667 votes

Congress- Rupinder Singh Raja Gill- 23368 votes


Hardeep Singh Mundian of the Aam Aadmi Party has won the Sahnewal seat in Ludhiana. Vikram Bajwa was the candidate from the Indian National Congress. With a difference of over 5,000 votes, Hardeep Singh won the seat.

AAP- Hardeep Singh Mundian- 61515 votes (Winner)

Congress- Vikram Singh Bajwa- 46322 votes

Shiromani Akali Dal- Sharanjit Singh Dhillon- 41373 votes


In Gill constituency, Aam Admi Party has won with a massive margin of over 57,000 votes. Jeevan Singh Sangowal of Aam Aadmi Party is the new MLA from Gill constituency.

Top three contestants in Gill

AAP- Jeevan Singh Sangowal-92696 votes (Winner)

Shiromani Akali Dal- Dashan Singh Shivalik- 35052 votes

Congress- Kuldeep Singh Vaid 33786 votes


Dakha is the only seat in Ludhiana that Shiromani Akali Dal has won. Manpreet Singh Ayali has saved his bastion of Mullanpur Dakha. Once again, he has won the seat and has become the MLA.

Top three contestants in Dakha

AKALI Dal- Manpreet Singh Ayali- 49909 votes (Winner)

Congress- Captain Sandeep Singh Sandhu 44102 votes

AAP- Dr. KNS Kang- 42994 votes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *